Books Faeries, Goddesses, Spirit-Stars Picture Books Read-a-Latte Reading Themes

Magic of the Skies and Grandmother’s Love in “Full Moon” by Brian Wilcox and Lawrence David

Widget courtesy of the ever-talented Iphigene.
Widget courtesy of the ever-talented Iphigene.

 

Myra here.

Yesterday, we posted about a grandmother’s letter to a grandchild far away in Patricia Maclachlan and Bryan Collier’s Your Moon, My Moon. Today, I would be sharing another moon-themed picture book about a grandmother and a faraway grandson and the moon that brings them together for a brief magical moment.

IMG_9615

A young boy has just celebrated his birthday and Grandmother sent him a crystal globe of the city where she lives as a present. It also comes with a note: “If you look carefully, maybe you can see me.”

That same evening, the little boy caught sight of the full moon outside his bedroom window. And with panache, this is what he does: “I whipped back my fishing rod and cast it to the moon. ‘To Grandma’s!’ I shouted.”

IMG_9616

The moon has willingly obliged and took this young boy to a magical journey, bringing him closer to his grandmother.

IMG_9619

I love how the artwork of the book is created in monochrome, further highlighting the dream-like quality of the entire narrative. I could also see familiar sights such as the famed lions in the library steps. Can you guess where the boy’s grandmother lives? It was never fully stated in the book, but I believe I can hazard a guess. I’ve been here before, much to my delight.

IMG_9618

As the boy moved from one area of the city to the next, it appears that the creatures are all preparing and excited to go somewhere. There seems to be a party in the city and the boy is just in time. However, the moon drags the boy along before he can get more information. The illustration above happens to be one of my favorites with the musicians and the beautiful dancing ladies. This book has captured the heart of the city, one of my absolute favourites among the places I visited.

How the story ends and whether the young boy finds his grandmother and whether he gets to attend this party, I shall leave for you to discover. Truth be told, this is what I love most about children’s books. It awakens the dreamer in me, reminding me that even impossible things can be made simple by an articulated wish and a rod cast out into the skies.

Full Moon by Brian Wilcox and Lawrence David with illustrations by Brian Wilcox. A Doubleday Book for Young Readers, 2001. Bought my copy of the book. Book photos taken by me.

readalattechallenge_zps01d248d0

Read-a-Latte Challenge: 237 (150)

*** Video ads other readers may find at the bottom of this post are NOT endorsed by GatheringBooks but are randomly included by WordPress to maintain their site. ***

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

3 comments on “Magic of the Skies and Grandmother’s Love in “Full Moon” by Brian Wilcox and Lawrence David

  1. OOOoooooo, the illustrations are fantastic! And the story has an enchanting feel, so I’ll be checkin’ this one out 🙂 Thanks!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Moon is with you wherever you go in “Max and the Tag-Along Moon” by Floyd Cooper |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.