Books

End of Year Books Survey 2012: Iphigene Edition

Image17-1024x584

Personally, 2012 was a tough year for me in terms of reading and blogging. I didn’t read or posted as much as I wished. Yet, I could say 2012 still was a good year of reading. I read some of the most enlightening books of my lifetime. While I wasn’t able to read the books I wished I could have read like Haruki Murakami’s 1Q84, despite its presence in my shelf, I felt I read a lot of books that captured what my soul needed as nourishment  this year.

In continuation to Myra‘s and Fats post, here are my answers to the 2012 Reading Survey. I picked up the questions that I could answer and left out some of the questions that I couldn’t personally answer.

Best Book You Read In 2012? (You can break it down by genre if you want)

Fats and Myra have answered this already, but I just wanted to create my own list. I have to say my best reads are as follows:

The reason is personal more than ever. This list encapsulates books that spoke to me and captured every nuance of my thoughts and emotions at the time I read them.

Book Blogging/Reading Life in 2012

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2012? 

I haven’t shared this with the other members of GatheringBooks, as I found it fairly recently and maybe it’s the wit of the blogger or the incredible love for books that just made me keep track of her writing. Favorite book blog discovery would be GeekyBookSnob.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2012? 

pleaselookaftermom

There are three people behind Gathering Books and compared to the other two (Fats and Myra) I’ve written very few this past year, but if I had to choose one it would be Mothers are People too. I think in many ways I really did put more effort into writing this review and in putting forth what I thought the author and her novel were saying.

3. Best discussion you had on your blog?

I’m sure there were many, but I think its on our Feature of Hunger Games wherein we focused on Katniss. I liked that there was contention in some of the comments as much as there were agreements. I think when someone presents an opposing thought to our post it offers great discussion and allows people to exchange ideas openly and with candor. I’ve always loved having someone disagree with me and present it in a logical manner.

4. Best moment of book blogging in 2012?

I think it would be the Asian Festival of Children’s Content held in Singapore. While this was mostly Myra’s participation, it was something that sort of opened up Gathering Books to new authors, illustrators and book bloggers.

I think its also getting an unexpected number of participants to our Award Winning Books Reading Challenge 2012. It was our first year to host that challenge and the response has been wonderful.

5. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
Our most popular for this year is a post by Fats called Glimpses of Everyday Life in Cynthia Rylant’s If God went to Beauty School. It got 4032 views this year.

6. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

the-ngihtcircus

With the amount of posts we produce each week, this is hard to answer, but of all my posts I think I wish my review of The Night Circus got more love. It was something I also felt I immersed in as I wrote the review. Also, it was one of those books I never thought I’d like.

7. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

We completed quite a number of challenges. I didn’t even realize it was this much. But let me list everything:

———–

Before I end today’s post. I’d like to announce the winner for December 2012’s AWB Reading Challenge:

Congratulations Joyce Ray (Musing) for your review of Monsters by Walter Dean Meyers

Email us at gatheringbooks2009 (at) gmail (dot) com for your mailing address so we can send the book to you! You just won:

Check out our 2013 AWB Reading Challenge here.

AWB2013_green

4 comments on “End of Year Books Survey 2012: Iphigene Edition

  1. I still haven’t gotten around to reading The Night Circus yet or for that matter Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell – maybe this year? We shall see. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monday Reading: Cybils Fiction Picture Book about Books |

  3. Pingback: [Saturday Reads] Best Books Read in 2016 from the GatheringBooks Ladies (1 of 2) – Gathering Books

  4. Pingback: [Saturday Reads] Reading Stats and Best Books from GatheringBooks’ 2016 Reading Themes – Gathering Books

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.