Book Hunting Expeditions Girl Power and Women's Wiles Reading Themes

IMM (41): A Fool’s Love and Library Loot

“We’re fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance.” – Japanese Proverb

Of course we’re not letting ourselves miss the fun. Not even April Fools can stop us, for here we are yet again to share our book finds this week. The fabulous Kristi from The Story Siren hosts this amazing book meme, In My Mailbox, where book lovers and book hunters gather and share their book loot for the week. It’s my turn this Sunday, and this is perhaps my most random book find in the history of book finds. =)

I’d like to start off with my most unexpected finds: Shadows in Flight by Orson Scott Card and A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison. Both copies were mailed to me by the Science Fiction Book Club (which I truly love dearly) as part of my Featured Selection. The funny thing was that I forgot to “decline” it at the time. ‘Silence’ meant yes, and I learned that the hard way. Haha. Both books are sequels, which only means that I wouldn’t be able to get around to them until I read the prequels. *Sigh* If anyone has heard about any of these books, or the authors, I’d like to hear what you have to say.

If there’s one person I know who loves Nick Hornby, that’s gotta be Iphigene. I’ve heard so many good stuff about him but I’ve never really read any of his books. Juliet, Naked by Nick Hornby is the second book to add to my collection. It was on sale for $5.97, a hardbound Nick Hornby book, so why not? I haven’t even started on Slam! yet, so I hope I’ll be able to read both in the next month or so.

This next set of books was actually from the 99¢ Store. I love E.L. Konigsburg!!! I’ve read a lot of her YA books, and The View from Saturday somewhat reminds me of Gathering Books. I would always think of the coffee sessions and vibrant book discussions that the three of us used to share with two lovely gifted children when Myra and I were still living in the Philippines. (And, boy, those kids grew up fast!!) Finding (george) by E.L. Konigsburg in a thrift store was better than any other MasterCard ad, for it was beyond priceless. I was also delighted to find Takeoffs and Landings by Margaret Peterson Haddix. I haven’t explored her works, yet, but now that I’ve acquired a copy of her book, I’ll definitely look into her series. Mrs. Scrooge: A Christmas Poem by Carol Ann Duffy is a wonderful treat for Poetry Fridays or this year’s holiday cheer. It’s not exactly a fractured fairy tale, but definitely interesting to read about Ebenezer Scrooge’s wife. Who would’ve thought he had one?! The last book in the set is Barnstomers: Game 2 – The River City by Loren Long and Philip Bildner. Again, a sequel. Don’t ask my why I always end up getting sequels without prequels! I guess that’s the fun of random buys. Haha.

The books above were borrowed from the Chula Vista Public Library as part of our bimonthly theme, Girl Power and Women’s Wiles. How I’ll be able to get around all of them, only God knows. I’ve reviewed 2 so far: Rumpelstiltksin’s Daughter by Diane Stanley and The Crow-Girl by Bodil Bredsdorff. The rest of the books include: Earwig and the Witch by Diana Wynn Jones, My Name is Mina by David Almond, The Runaway Princess by Kate Coombs, The Firework-Maker’s Daughter by Philip Pullman, Just Being Audrey by Margaret Cardillo, The Seven Wise Princesses: A Medieval Persian Epic retold by Wafa Tarnowska, Girl Wonder: A Baseball Story in Nine Innings and Maria’s Comet by Deborah Hopkinson, Princess Furball by Charlotte S. Huck, Through My Eyes by Ruby Bridges, and Basketball Belles by Sue Macy. I’m really hoping I’ll be able to feature more from the list, but we can only do so much in two months.

As you may have noticed, minus the library loot, I didn’t buy any picture book this week. I’m saving enough to hoard more books from Book Off in two weeks. However, this book was waiting for me in my doorstep when I got home from work this morning. Houghton Mifflin sent us BookSpeak written by Laura Purdie Salas and illustrated by Josée Bisaillon. New picture book for review. Yay! I know Myra wants to get a copy of this book, so I told her I would mail it to her the soonest I get a chance. (Yes, I’m a darling for doing so, but also because I do it for love. Haha.)

What’s in your mailbox this week?

“Even the gods love jokes.” – Plato

Fats is the Assistant Manager for Circulation Services at the Wayne County Public Library in Wooster, Ohio. She considers herself a reader of all sorts, although she needs to work on her non-fiction reading. Fats likes a good mystery but is not too fond of thrillers. She takes book hoarding seriously and enjoys collecting bookmarks and tote bags. When she is not reading, Fats likes to shop pet apparel for her cat Penny (who absolutely loathes it).

20 comments on “IMM (41): A Fool’s Love and Library Loot

  1. Hey sweetcakes, no need to mail me the book. We’d be seeing each other in a few months’ time anyway, so let’s save it for that. I have a book (or two) here waiting for you as well. Let’s swap random book finds! Oh yeah, I also bought a few Orson Scott Card books, we should really get around to doing a science fiction theme pretty soon.

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      Okay! How did you find out about Book Speak? I haven’t read it yet, but I browsed through it and LOVED it!! *sparkling diamond eyes* It reminds me of The Secret Lives of Princesses and Science Verse. Have you read any of his books? And these are adult novels we’re talking about, right? Or does he right for kids as well? Yes, we should. A good way to widen our readership. 🙂

      Like

  2. verabear

    I’ve not been buying a lot of books lately because I still have so much to read from what I accumulated in the past couple of years. But yesterday, I couldn’t resist Fully Booked Gateway’s 20% off sale.

    http://www.inbetweencovers.com/2012/04/end-of-month-book-stash.html

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      Thanks for visiting, verabear! 🙂 Don’t worry. I have about TWO shelves of UNREAD books. Hehe. *sigh* I miss Fullybooked and National Bookstore. I’ll be sure to ransack both (including Booksale) when I visit next year. 🙂

      Like

  3. Yay for library books!! Looks like you are going to be busy reading for awhile with these– hope you enjoy them all! 🙂

    You can check out my IMM video and post for this week at the link below 🙂 Happy Reading!!

    Lea @ LC’s Adventures in Libraryland

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      Hi Lea! Yes indeed. I always bring a book to work, in case I find time to read. (Alas, work seems to always get in the way and make sure I’m busy. Haha.) Thank you! I’m happy I made a bit of progress after posting those 2 reviews. More reading to be done today! I’ll be sure to drop by your page! 🙂

      Like

  4. Catherine Johnson

    Wow, that’s a lot of books. I read about book Speak just the other day. It sounds fun for writers especially. I’m reading Sophie Kinsella’s I’ve got your Number and it’s so funny!

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      Hi Catherine! Yes, a lot of books. I think I always end up getting more than I can handle. Haha. I browsed through Book Speak and it was wonderful. I can’t wait to relax in bed and read it aloud. 🙂

      Like

  5. I must get a copy of Book Speak!!! It sounds like it’ll be fun and perfect for book lovers. 😉

    I’ve never read anything by Nick Hornby, but I’m curious!

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      I haven’t read Book Speak from cover to cover, only browsed through it. So adorable. Laurie Purdie Salas is such a talented writer. Definitely one of my favorite recent discoveries. I’ve never read anything of Hornby’s either, so hopefully I’ll find time to start reading his 2 books that I own. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  6. Wow! You got a LOT of books this week! I can’t say that I’ve read any of them, but they sound great! I hope you enjoy 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my IMM!

    Amanda

    Like

  7. The two authors from your SF book club – I have read some of each and yes please! I haven’t read The Enders series by Orson Scott Card – but I am getting the first book soon. (I loved his kids book Pathfinder and can’t wait for the sequel!)

    – Jessica @ Book Sake

    Like

    • Fats Suela

      Hi Jessica! I think Pathfinder seems like a manageable enough read, than Shadows in Flight. Then again, who knows? Gotta buy that first book before I can even touch the second! Haha. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  8. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a nice comment on my IMM post. 🙂

    Your haul is awesome. I hope you enjoy reading all of your new novels.

    – Beckie @ Bittersweet Enchantment

    Like

  9. I hope you like BookSpeak! (I loved Ender’s Game–but it’s been about 20 years since I read it!)

    Like

  10. Fats Suela

    EEP!! Hi Laura! 🙂 I was so thrilled when I received BookSpeak in the mail. It was a great concept, and I love the collection of poems in the book. Perfect for book lovers, and a delightful read for everyone – book lover or otherwise. Thank you for providing us a copy. 😀 (I’ve heard about Ender’s Game a few times, but haven’t read it. I will look into it next chance I get.)

    Like

  11. I don’t recognize any of the books, but they look very interesting! I hope you enjoy them 😀

    Have an amazing reading week~

    Like

  12. Pingback: An April Round-Up: Reading Challenge Updates, Progressive Poetry, April AWB Winners and More… «

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.