Girl Power and Women's Wiles Poetry Friday Reading Themes

Poetry Friday: On Women’s Silence

One of my most treasured books is A Book of Women Poets From Antiquity to Now: Selections from the World Over as Edited by Aliki Barnstone and Willis Barnstone. I bought my own copy over ten years back and I turn to this book for consolation and respite during times of disquiet – and it has never failed me. I have not read the entire book yet, rather, I open it randomly to a page and allow the poem found there to speak to me. I also figured that this shall be my source of inspiration as we also celebrate our bimonthly theme on Girl Power and Women’s Wiles until the first week of May.

Poetry Friday is hosted this week by Mary Lee Hahn and Franki from A Year of Reading.

My worse-for-wear, battered, much-loved copy of the book.

Not surprisingly, I found it difficult to choose from such a stellar selection of poets since it contains selections ranging from Sumerian and Akkadian Poetry to Greek, Persian, Turkish, French, Portuguese, Japanese female poets – among others. This week, though, I am in the mood for women’s deafening silences. And so I share with you Bella Akhmadulina‘s Silence.

Akhmadulina in 1962, the year of her first collection, The String. Photograph: Malyshev/Ria Novosti/AFP/RIA Novosti - click on the image to be taken to the websource.

The great thing about this book is that it also includes a brief bio of the poets. Akhmadulina was born in Moscow of Tartar and Italian descent in 1937. She has just recently passed away on 29 November 2010. She attended the Gorky Institute of Literature – a school from which she was expelled. In the Obituary written about her by GS Smith as found in Guardian, she is described as such:

For more than 40 years, the poet Bella Akhmadulina, who has died aged 73, was a regal, even sainted presence on the Moscow literary scene. She was practically unique, because it was simply not done to speak ill of her, no matter what one’s position in official or unofficial hierarchies. She had an aura to which everyone deferred. (source here)

And so I share with you one of her poems that moved me greatly.

Silence
By Bella Akhmadulina
Who was it that took away my voice?
The black wound he left in my throat
Can’t even cry.
 
March is at work under the snow
And the birds of my throat are dead,
Their gardens turning into dictionaries.
 
I beg my lips to sing.
I beg the lips of the snowfall,
Of the cliff and the bush to sing.
 
Between my lips, the round shape
Of the air in my mouth.
Because I can say nothing.
 
I’ll try anything
For the trees in the snow.
I breathe. I swing my arms. I lie.
 
From this sudden silence,
Like death, that loved
The names of all words,
You raise me now in song.

Somehow, this poem reminded me of a favorite singer-songwriter, Tori Amos, as she sings Silent All these Years. Hope you enjoy the video clip:

Excuse me but can I be you for a while
My dog won’t bite if you sit real still
I got the anti-Christ in the kitchen yellin’ at me again
Yeah I can hear that
Been saved again by the garbage truck
I got something to say you know
But nothing comes
Yes I know what you think of me
You never shut-up
Yeah I can hear that
But what if I’m a mermaid 
In these jeans of his 
With her name still on it
Hey but I don’t care
Cause sometimes
I said sometimes
I hear my voice
And it’s been here
Silent All These Years
So you found a girl
Who thinks really deep thougts
What’s so amazing about really deep thoughts
Boy you best praya that I bleed real soon
How’s that thought for you
My scream got lost in a paper cup
You think there’s a heaven
Where some screams have gone
I got 25 bucks and a cracker
Do you think it’s enough
To get us there

Cause what if I’m a mermaid 
In these jeans of his 
With her name still on it
Hey but I don’t care
Cause sometimes
I said sometimes
I hear my voice
And it’s been here
Silent All These…

Years go by 
Will I still be waiting
For somebody else to understand
Years go by
If I’m stripped of my beauty
And the orange clouds
Raining in head
Years go by 
Will I choke on my tears
Till finally there is nothing left
One more casualty
You know we’re too easy Easy Easy

Well I love the way we communicate
Your eyes focus on my funny lip shape
Let’s hear what you think of me now
But baby don’t look up
The sky is falling
Your mother shows up in a nasty dress
It’s your turn now to stand where I stand
Everybody lookin’ at you here
Take hold of my hand
Yeah I can hear them

But what if I’m a mermaid 
In these jeans of his 
With her name still on it
Hey but I don’t care
Cause sometimes
I said sometimes
I hear my voice [x3]

And it’s been here
Silent All These Years
I’ve been here
Silent All These Years

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

12 comments on “Poetry Friday: On Women’s Silence

  1. Thank you Myra, for once again opening my eyes to a new poet and her unique voice. The sorrowful longing in both the poem and the song were powerful – that first stanza alone was amazing:
    “Who was it that took away my voice?
    The black wound he left in my throat
    Can’t even cry.”
    I am thinking of the women and children in particualr across the world, it being Women’s History Month, for whom those lines as especially meaningful.

    Like

  2. Thanks for introducing me to yet another amazing poet, Myra. Oh, the voice of repression! I like the note of hope in the last stanza.

    Went through a phase of listening to nothing else except Tori Amos. She did speak to me in a way no one else had. Hadn’t heard this song in a long while. So glad you shared it.

    Like

    • Hi Jama, I know what you mean about Tori Amos – had the same phase several years back – Precious Things remains a top favorite. I do enjoy female singer-songwriters a great deal: Jill Sobule, Ani DiFranco (I watched her live here in Singapore!! ah-maaaaa-zing performance), Indigo Girls – and a few more I can’t think of right now. I’m glad you enjoyed both the video and the poem. 🙂

      Like

  3. Sounds like an interesting collection. What a powerful poem. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. Images of Margarita Engle’s Poet Slave of Cuba went through my mind as the poem talked about silence. Well done for another powerful poetry, Ma’am. 🙂

    Like

  5. Pingback: Perfect Picture Book: Rumpelstiltskin’s Daughter «

  6. Myra, I’m sorry I’ve missed so many of your recent posts. I love how you share such amazing artists & then give us some context from which to learn. The poem is beautiful and heartbreaking as well. My first thought is that I wonder what very young women would see in it? Do they realize they are becoming silent? “My scream got lost in a paper cup.” So many layers there. Thank you!

    Like

  7. Pingback: List of Girl Power Themed Books and Poems: Picture Books, YA, Adult Lit, and Poetry «

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.