Books

Teaser Tuesday (6): Adventure and Atonement

It’s usually Myra on Teaser Tuesday, but this time around I got the opportunity to share with you a few excerpts from the books I’m reading. I say some, because I tend to read 3 to 4 books at a time, but for today’s post I’m only sharing two.

This is the sixth time that we are joining Teaser Tuesday, a weekly meme that is hosted by Miz B from Should Be Reading. As per usual, here’s the drill:

  • Grab your current read/s.
  • Open to a random page.
  • Share “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page (We deleted the ‘two sentences’ bit since I tend to include more than two sentences, truth be told).
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’m currently reading two very diverse books, one is a fantasy/adventure and the other a classic book one must read before you die (or so said the list “1001 books you must read before you die.” J). Without further delay here are today’s teasers:

Eye of the Oracle (Book 1 of Oracles of Fire) by Bryan Davis

“Makaido’s sense of danger blared in his mind. He tried to stretch out his weakened wings. Would they all be able to pull him up in time? Maybe he could plow into a row of Watchers and die in a blaze of glory. Why not? With the prophesied storm gaining strength, he was destined to die soon anyway.”

Atonement by Ian McEwan

Within the half hour Briony would commit her crime. Conscious that she was sharing the night expanse with a maniac, she kept close to the shadowed walls of the house at first, and ducked low beneath the sills whenever she passed in front of lightened windows.”

I was quite taken by McEwan. I wasn’t sure what to expect of his writing. Now that I have read more than a quarter of the book, I’m glad I gave him a try. The Davis book is a challenging read as all fantasies are in terms of remembering worlds, powers, and characters.

11 comments on “Teaser Tuesday (6): Adventure and Atonement

  1. Great teasers! I love reading two very different books at the same time. Gives you a little bit of everything you like at once!

    Check out my teaser!
    http://somelikeitparanormall.blogspot.com/2011/12/tt-1.html

    Like

  2. These are both new to me books. You’ve picked two intriguing teasers.

    Here’s My Teaser

    Like

  3. Excellent teasers!
    Here’s my Teaser Tuesday post. 🙂

    Like

  4. I’ve been wanting to read Atonement. I adore the movie.

    Here are my teasers for the week: http://witandsin.blogspot.com/2011/12/teaser-tuesday.html

    Kat
    Wit and Sin

    Like

  5. The second one appeals to me more but both are good teasers.

    Here’s ours: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/12/tuesday-teasers-3-this-week-2-non.html

    Like

  6. Fab teasers! & two different genres at once, nice.

    Here’s mine:
    http://ttoria.blogspot.com

    TToria
    xo

    Like

  7. I have seen the film adaptation of “Atonement” and thought it was memorable–haven’t read book yet. When I like a book or film, like to see additional uses of the story. The closest I’ve come to adventure fantasy is a little time travel as in this week’s TT. Diana Gabaldon’s latest Lord John Grey/Jamie Fraser nove, “The Scottish Prisoner”. Summit Musings

    Like

    • I haven’t seen the film. As much as possible i try to read the book first. When i picked up atonement i wasn’t so sure i’d like it, but its beautiful writing.

      Like

  8. Really great teasers. I thought Atonement the movie was great hehe, never thought about reading it though. Here’s my TT

    Like

  9. I’m excited to read this book. I might buy a copy one of these days. No, I’m not influenced by this teaser 🙂 (sarcasm).

    my blog: pinoy pick up lines

    Like

  10. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday (8): Adventures and Japan Lit |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.