Multicultural - Diversity Poetry Friday Reading Themes

[Poetry Friday] Caged Bird by Maya Angelou

poetry friday

Myra here.

As March is Women’s Month, we are celebrating female poets here in GatheringBooks. This is also in keeping with our current bimonthly theme:

1898133_719637451415067_2143976191_n

This week, I am back with another poem by Maya Angelou still culled from this gorgeous book that I borrowed from the library.

IMG_2020

I have read Maya Angelou’s novel I know why the caged bird sings several years back. And so when I found this haunting poem, I just know that I have to share it with you all, beautiful people. Poetry Friday is hosted this week by Franki and Mary Lee from A Year of Reading. I took a photo of the page and edited it using an iPhone app.

IMG_2017

I found it interesting though that the caged bird here is described as a “he.” Made me think about the confinements of males as indelibly marked by societal expectations. I wonder what songs he is unable to sing because of this. What prevents him from claiming the sky?

*** Video ads other readers may find at the bottom of this post are NOT endorsed by GatheringBooks but are randomly included by WordPress to maintain their site. ***

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

9 comments on “[Poetry Friday] Caged Bird by Maya Angelou

  1. “a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams”– sigh.
    Interesting juxtaposition of the free bird in the image with the caged bird in the poem.

    Like

  2. I love this poem and Maya in general. I never thought of the caged bird as male either – it’s interesting to think about.

    Like

  3. macrush53

    One of my favorite books.

    Like

  4. I’ve always read this thinking it can be so many kinds of cages. It’s rather heart-breaking, isn’t it? Thanks, Myra!

    Like

  5. maryleehahn

    It’s always good to revisit Maya Angelou’s poetry!

    Like

  6. Funny, I just shared and unpacked this with my students, Myra – such powerful poem.

    Like

  7. So powerful! Thank you for sharing, Myra.

    Like

  8. What a great poem. 🙂

    Like

  9. This poem gives me chills!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.