Photo Journal

[Photo Journal/A-Z Photo Story Challenge] N is for New Orleans

photojournal

a-z3

Myra here.

It is Tuesday in our part of the world once more. Time for Frizztext’s A-Z Photo Story Challenge. Letter this week is N and so I share photographs from one of my favourite Southern states: New Orleans

N is for New Orleans

296451_2447220652781_887317366_n

I attended the National Association for Gifted Children Conference held in New Orleans sometime in 2011. I immediately fell in love with the city.

386785_2447219972764_1651639239_n

City of mysteries, masquerade, and music indeed.

DSC07995

I was already watching the TV series True Blood during this time, so I was amused at a few Southern allusions that I noticed thanks to the tv series. There is even a street here named Lafayette, also one of the characters in True Blood.

DSC08078

Great place for shopping too.

DSC08152

And of course New Orleans is famous for its music.

302691_2447208572479_1206931282_n

I also love the European vibe of the city as could be seen in this French market.

391866_2447205452401_393272870_n

There is an ancient cobble-stoned, church-steepled, carriage-drawn feel to the city that appealed to my Catholic upbringing.

I also love the architecture.

391366_2447226172919_1234395025_n

This is Edgar Degas’ house, famous French artist who lived in New Orleans.

And this is me enjoying the cool November air. I think I have just tasted their famous jambalaya and gumbo when this picture was taken. I hope I can visit again.

*** Video ads other readers may find at the bottom of this post are NOT endorsed by GatheringBooks but are randomly included by WordPress to maintain their site. ***

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

3 comments on “[Photo Journal/A-Z Photo Story Challenge] N is for New Orleans

  1. oh, if you mention New Orleans I have to grab my guitar:
    https://soundcloud.com/fingerstyle_guitar/112-basin-street-blues

    Like

  2. I was through New Orleans as a child….I’m thinking I need to return now to really enjoy it. Beautiful photos of that wonderful city.

    Like

  3. You make New Orleans look pretty appealing. I,too, love the architecture 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.