Books about Books Poetry Friday Reading Themes

Poetry Friday: Munch on a Poem and Read to Me – Jane Yolen and Mark Strand

Our current bimonthly theme (until the middle of November) is Books about Books and the River of Words. And so I thought of sharing a few poems that would celebrate this love for words and books. I am so glad to have chanced upon this website by Reading Lady which provides a rich compilation of wondrous poetry on this subject. Here are two poems that caught my eye, and I am hoping that it will catch yours, too, dear Poetry Friday friends. Our lovely host this week is Betsy from Teaching Young Writers. The second poem is dedicated with much love to Jama Rattigan of Jama’s Alphabet Soup for pretty obvious reasons. 🙂

Read to me 
by Jane Yolen

Read to me riddles and read to me rhymes
Read to me stories of magical times
Read to me tales about castles and kings
Read to me stories of fabulous things
Read to me pirates and read to me knights
Read to me dragons and dragon-book fights
Read to me spaceships and cowboys and then
When you are finished- please read them again.

Taken from Word Light’s Flickr Images. Click on the image to be taken to the websource.

Eating Poetry
Mark Strand

Ink runs from the corners of my mouth.
There is no happiness like mine.
I have been eating poetry.

The librarian does not believe what she sees.
Her eyes are sad
and she walks with her hands in her dress.

The poems are gone.
The light is dim.
The dogs are on the basement stairs and coming up.

Their eyeballs roll,
their blond legs burn like brush.
The poor librarian begins to stamp her feet and weep.

She does not understand.
When I get on my knees and lick her hand,
she screams.

I am a new man,
I snarl at her and bark,
I romp with joy in the bookish dark.

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

9 comments on “Poetry Friday: Munch on a Poem and Read to Me – Jane Yolen and Mark Strand

  1. What a nice surprise! Thanks for the poetry dedication :). Love Strand’s poem, and it’s always nice to nibble on one of Jane’s. *rolls over and licks Myra’s hand* Ruff! Happy Weekend!

    Like

  2. 🙂 Both very different and sooo true! Strand’s poem is just a little disturbing…

    Like

  3. Yikes! That second poem is seriously scaring me! I am that sad eyed librarian lady.

    Like

  4. Eating poetry sounds lovely, but Strand makes it sound rather hair raising!!

    Like

  5. Laura Shovan

    I love Mark Strand’s work. “I romp with joy in the bookish dark” — he’s not afraid to say that we love books with a beast-like passion.

    Like

  6. These are each so unique, great offering today!

    Like

  7. Love both, and both poets, too, Myra. What gifts they continually offer with their words. Thanks for all!

    Like

  8. Fun poems today! Thank you!

    Like

  9. Pingback: October Round Up! «

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.