Book Hunting Expeditions

In My Mailbox (5) – Rare Finds in Tacloban City, Philippines

This is our fifth contribution to The Story Siren‘s weekly meme In My Mailbox. Every Sunday, bibliophiles around the globe share with one and all the books that they have discovered, found, purchased, borrowed, stolen during the week. I am very pleased to share my wonderful finds in this tiny little discounted book shop in Tacloban, Leyte (a province in the Philippines).

I honestly thought I would not buy anymore books, but I just could not resist these beautiful picture books which I was able to scrounge from Book Sale – they were lying around, unloved. I simply could not let that happen. I was thinking that I could use the first two books (I have a Dream and Amelia and Eleanor go for a Ride) for Nonfiction Monday. I was also amazed to find a picture book by Newbery award-winning YA author Zilpha Keatley Snyder.

How can I possibly say no to HG Wells’ The Time Machine? I was also amazed to find the National Book Award winning The Canning Season by Polly Horvath for less than a dollar. You just got to love discounted stores.

I nearly fell over with so much glee when I saw these two books – I must have stifled a squeal, my heart just skipped several beats. I couldn’t even find Colin Thompson’s How to Live Forever in libraries in Singapore – and I found it lying around in a quiet bookshop – a hardbound copy at that for less than 5 USD. And yes, another Raymond Briggs!!!

One word right now: BLISS. 

5 comments on “In My Mailbox (5) – Rare Finds in Tacloban City, Philippines

  1. Nice sets of books, The Machine and The Changing Maze sound awesome. Hope to see what you think about them soon. And Dr. Martin and Amelia, no way, they’re two of the many favorite people in the world.

    Like

  2. wow, i like picture books! thanks for stopping by my site 🙂 happy reading!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Here Comes the End of July: A Round Up |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.