24 Hour Dewey Readathon

Update 6: Hour 16 for the Readathon

Now that I visited a few blogs (Erin Reads and Vasilly), I have a better picture of how the updates are usually organized. I realized that I did not make a comprehensive list of the mini-challenges I participated in so far, but I do provide a mention of those in my mini updates (as could be found here, here and my latest one here). Thus, my resolve is to just include a comprehensive list of my mini-challenges in my final round-up post for the Dewey Readathon.

Thus far, here are the books I finished reading from Hour 14.

Anno’s Britain by Mitsumasa Anno

Museum Trip by Barbara Lehman

Clown by Quentin Blake

While these lovely books are wordless, I’d like you to take a peek in Anno’s Britain to see how comprehensively detailed each page is:

Exquisitely detailed. One can drown in Anno's artwork. I can spend hours just looking at each of the image here. But too bad, I don't have much time to complete all 20 books for this readathon challenge.

Mini Challenge: Now all we need is a Theme Song by Vamps R Us. Admittedly, this is one of my favorites so far. And so, I share with you KT Tunstall’s The Other Side of the World which I picked for my theme song as I was reading Anno’s Britain.

Seems apt since Mitsumasa Anno literally traveled on the other side of the world to document the seascapes and landscapes of Britain, the US and Spain. One of the things I found in Anno’s Britain is this:

THE BEATLES!!! The crowd seems mighty tame here, if I may say so myself.

And so, for my 6th Update, Hour 16, it’s now 11:09 where I am, I share with you A Hard Day’s Night by The Beatles. Dedicated to those who pulled an all-nighter in the name of Dewey’s Readathon.

Myra is a Teacher Educator and a registered clinical psychologist based in Al Ain, United Arab Emirates. Prior to moving to the Middle East, she lived for eleven years in Singapore serving as a teacher educator. She has edited five books on rediscovering children’s literature in Asia (with a focus on the Philippines, Malaysia, India, China, Japan) as part of the proceedings for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content where she served as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the Asian Children’s Writers and Illustrators Conference from 2011 until 2019. While she is an academic by day, she is a closet poet and a book hunter at heart. When she is not reading or writing about books or planning her next reads, she is hoping desperately to smash that shuttlecock to smithereens because Badminton Is Life (still looking for badminton courts here at UAE - suggestions are most welcome).

3 comments on “Update 6: Hour 16 for the Readathon

  1. Keep up the great work!

    Like

  2. I am a huge Beatles fan, and I love A Hard Day’s Night (I actually really liked Help too, but Magical Mystery Tour lost me a bit…)

    Grab another book
    off your readathon pile
    All the pages you’ll read
    Will surely stretch a mile!
    Go, Readathon!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Update 7: Hour 18 of the Readathon |

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.