5 Comments

BHE (36): Cybils Love and Bargain Books

BHE

Cybils2012

It’s Sunday once again. Time for us to share our book hunting expeditions and the lovelies that found their way into our hands this week. As per usual, I made my weekly pilgrimage to our public library to borrow a few Cybils-related books for our current bimonthly theme.

Jan_Feb2013

Finalists for the Cybils Fiction Picture Book Category

I am happy to share that out of the seven books I need to get a hold of as second-round Fiction Picture Book judge, I found six in our libraries. I already borrowed Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen last week, and so I borrowed the other five titles this week:

IMG_4992

Mac Barnett is rockin’ and rollin’ with two finalists for Cybils in 2012, Extra Yarn (illustrated by Jon Klassen) and Chloe and the Lion with pictures by Adam Rex. I was also happy to find Creepy Carrots by Aaron Reynolds and pictures by Peter Brown, Black Dog by Levi Pinfold, and A Home for Bird by Philip C. Stead.

I also reserved One Special Day by Lola M. Schaefer and illustrated by Jessica Meserve. Sadly we don’t have Infinity and Me by Kate Hosford and illustrations by Gabi Swiatkowska yet in our public libraries.

Book Bargains at Bras Basah: Fantasy

And I am back to book hunting in Bras Basah. Priced at two books for five dollars, what can I do? I truly am a certifiable book addict. Here are my recent finds:

IMG_4821

I am very slowly collecting Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels. I’m glad to find Small Gods and Moving Pictures. I thought that Good Omens by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman was a steal at 2.50.

IMG_4822

I have heard about The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells for the longest time. I thought I might as well purchase it so that I can get around to reading it. I’ve already read Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita and I even use the film adaptation for teaching undergraduate students a few odd years back, but I realized that I lost my copy of the book, so might as well get this one. I already own a copy of Miguel Syjuco’s Ilustrado, and no, I have not read it yet. I bought this one so I can give it as a gift to a friend.

IMG_5017

I was intrigued by this collection: Stories and Poems for Extremely Intelligent Children of all ages as selected by Harold Bloom. Would I like to know what the selections are. I also learned about Meindert deJong as I was reading Dear Genius: The Letters of Ursula Nordstrom and I know that they have a contentious relationship as editor and writer. I would love to see a sample of DeJong’s writing in Hurry Home, Candy.

*** Featured Books ***

IMG_5016

I was too excited for words when I saw The Earthsea Quartet by Ursula LeGuin, I had to grab it off the shelves before anyone else sees it. G.P. Taylor’s Mariah Mundi: The Midas Box also looks mighty interesting. I have a few of G.P. Taylor’s titles here at home, I hope I can get around to reading his books very soon.

How about you, dear friends, what books found their way into your hands this week?

5 comments on “BHE (36): Cybils Love and Bargain Books

  1. HOLY CRAP. You have a copy of Stories and Poems for Extremely Intelligent Children of All Ages. Saw this years back, and I’ve always wanted to copy, but it was never on sale. Lucky you!! The Earthsea quartet is another great find. Nicely done book hunting this week!! =)

    • Hi Fats! Yes! It’s such a steal at 2.50! I mean, come on, right?! The Earthsea Quartet by LeGuin, I know is also a great find. :) I haven’t even had a chance to do any book hunting this week, meetings and meetings even on a Sunday, how tragic is that. :) Haha. Fun, though. :)

  2. [...] Book Hunting Expedition (36): Cybils Love and Bargain Books [...]

  3. I would certainly love to visit this place where you discover such good books & bargains, Myra. Lovely sounding!

  4. Oh you people and your cheap books and libraries. Pffft. :) Seriously though, Japan is doing something wrong and Singapore something right!

    I have bought the Graceling series this week for myself, and a new Mo Willems (Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs) for my son.

Leave a Reply

