4 Comments

Photo Journal/ A-Z Photo Challenge: B is for Bridge

photojournal

a-z3

It is that time of the week again as we join Frizztext’s A-Z Photo Challenge. Letter this week is B and I am doing an ode to a few of the small-scale bridges that I have seen in my life – it’s hardly exhaustive but I thought that this would do for now. I also thought that it is a good theme to choose for the New Year as we reflect on the bridges we have burned and those that may be worth rebuilding.

Bridge at Bintan, Indonesia

DSC_0234

“When you become a teenager, you step onto a bridge. You may already be on it. The opposite shore is adulthood. Childhood lies behind. The bridge is made of wood. As you cross, it burns behind you” 
― Gail Carson LevineWriting Magic: Creating Stories that Fly

Bridge at Pulau Ubin

IMG_0293

“I can
almost understand
why
people
leap
from
bridges.” 
― Charles Bukowski

IMG_0542

“Some people believe that when you die, you cross the River of Death and have to pay the ferryman. People don’t seem to worry about that these days. Perhaps there’s a bridge now.” 
― Terry PratchettA Hat Full of Sky (Discworld, #32)

IMG_0549

“It feels like spoken words, this bridge. I want it but fear it. God, I want so desperately to reach the other side – just like I want the words. I want my words to build bridges strong enough to walk on. I want them to tower over the world so I can stand up on them and walk to the other side.” 
― Markus ZusakGetting the Girl

4 comments on “Photo Journal/ A-Z Photo Challenge: B is for Bridge

  1. hello Myra, I like your metaphorical reflection on the topic BRIDGES very much! Thanks for the quotation: “I want my words to build bridges strong enough to walk on. I want them to tower over the world so I can stand up on them and walk to the other side.” (by Markus Zusak, Getting the Girl)

  2. lovely bridges … and great quotes..

  3. [...] photo-journal-a-z-photo-challenge-b-is-for-bridge (gatheringbooks.wordpress.com) [...]

  4. [...] Photo Journal/ A-Z Photo Challenge: B is for Bridge [...]

Leave a Reply

