2 Comments

BHE (34): Launch of Bimonthly Theme for January/February – Crazy over Cybils!

Screen shot 2012-09-18 at PM 01.51.04

We are officially launching our new bimonthly theme today which gives love to all things Cybils! It was September of last year when I received the email that I was selected as one of the Fiction Picture Book second-round Judges, so I thought that this would be the perfect time as any to feature {as much} nominated picture books (and YA fiction, and poetry, and graphic novels, you get the picture) for Cybils in 2012 and to give love to all the finalists and winners of Cybils since 2006.

We are not limiting our bimonthly theme to just picture books nor the short listed titles for 2012. We are also including the nominated titles for 2012. We are hoping to give space to all books across all genre from 2006 up to the present time. I have a feeling though that I would lean a little bit towards the picture books given my involvement in this year’s Cybils. The 2012 Finalists could be found here, and the Finalists for the Fiction Picture Book Category could be seen here.

Jan_Feb2013

Here are a few books that I borrowed from our public libraries in celebration of our current theme.

Crazy over Cybils

IMG_4796

I admit I still have a hang-over from our Books about Books bimonthly theme last year. Among these four picture books, The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore by William Joyce is the only one that has been nominated for the 2012 Fiction Picture Book category. The others were not found in any of the Cybils archives, but I thought that I might as well borrow them from our libraries and feature them for Monday reading tomorrow: The Bored Book by David Michael Slater and Illustrations by Doug Keith, Bob Staake’s Look! A Book! A Zany Seek-and-Find Adventure and Look, a Book! by Libby Gleeson and Freya Blackwood.

IMG_4785

All the World by Liz Garton Scanlon and Caldecott Honor Medalist Marla Frazee is the Cybils 2009 Fiction Picture Book Winner. I am excited to read and feature this soon.

IMG_4795

Virginia Wolf by Kyo Maclear and Isabelle Arsenault is one of the nominated fiction picture books this 2012.

IMG_4787

I was surprised to discover that The Girl who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a ship of her own making by Catherynne M. Valente did not make it in the 2011 shortlist for Cybils. The Girl who Fell Beneath Fairyland on the other hand is one of the nominated titles for the Fantasy/Science Fiction Category this 2012. I’ve been meaning to read these books for the longest time since one of the GatheringBooks ladies, Fats, has waxed lyrical over the first Fairyland book. I have a feeling I won’t be able to read these two books in the next few weeks, but it’s good to have them in my shelves – until the time of course when I have to return them in our libraries.

IMG_4788

Explorer: The Mystery Boxes edited by Kazu Kibuishi is one of the nominated titles for the Graphic Novel category in 2012. Since I have fallen in love with The Amulet Series, I am looking forward to reading and reviewing this book as well.

Love to Florence Parry Heide

IMG_4780

Now these books have absolutely nothing to do with Cybils, but when I saw them in our libraries, I knew I had to borrow them simply because they are written by one of my absolute favorite authors – Florence Parry Heide: Treehorn’s Treasure with drawings by Edward Gorey; The Day of Ahmed’s Secret by Florence Parry Heide and Judith Heide Gilliland and illustrated by Ted Lewin; Some Things are Scary (No Matter How Old You Are) as illustrated by Jules Feiffer; and Tales for the Perfect Child with pictures by Victoria Chess.

Shout out to Gary Crew and Margaret Wild

Again, nothing to do with Cybils but I love Gary Crew, Shaun Tan, and Margaret Wild, so I went on a book-borrowing-binge from our libraries.

IMG_4786

I just bought Gary Crew and Shaun Tan’s The Viewer and I thought that I might as well borrow Memorial from our libraries. I am also excited to read Troy Thompson’s Excellent Peotry Book by Gary Crew and Craig Smith.

IMG_4781

I have fallen in love with Margaret Wild’s Woolvs in the Sitee so when I saw Fox as illustrated by Ron Brooks, I just know that I have to borrow this one too.

What about you, dear friends, what is going on in your blog/website in the next two months? What books fell into your hands in the past week?

2 comments on “BHE (34): Launch of Bimonthly Theme for January/February – Crazy over Cybils!

  1. [...] Book Hunting Expedition (34): Launch of Bimonthly Theme for January/February – Crazy Over Cybi… [...]

  2. […] we launched our bimonthly theme, Crazy Over Cybils, last January, I was hoping to feature Jasper Fforde’s The Last Dragonslayer. Unfortunately, […]

Leave a Reply

