1 Comment

BHE (30): All Out Book Sale at Bras Basah

I have refrained from buying quite a number of books since the Library Book Sale several months back. I suppose it’s slightly justified that I buy quite a number of books this time around given the all out book sale at Bras Basah several weeks back. 2 books for 5 dollars and 3 books for 10 dollars for a few of these books. How could I possibly say no to old friends who are looking for a new home?

YA Love

I bought these lovelies not for myself but as gifts this Christmas to friends. I thought that I might as well do a bit of Christmas shopping while I was doing my book buys – after all they make the best gifts, don’t ya think? J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, The Hobbit, The Two Towers, Eoin Colfer’s Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code, and Good Night Moon by Margaret Wise Brown.

Of course these are my daughter’s book finds as she has a huge Goosebumps collection.

I’m very happy to find The Necromancer: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel by Michael Scott since I have collected nearly all of the books in the entire series. Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan was on sale so I thought of giving it a try.

I am hoping to give The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart as a gift this Christmas – better than gadgets, right? I was also very happy to find PopCo by Scarlett Thomas, the creator of The End of Mr. Y – it promises to be a riveting read.

I have been slowly collecting the Discworld Novels so I am glad to find these Terry Pratchett titles: Going Postal and The Color of Magic.

Adult Literature

As childlike as I am, I have to admit that I have not ‘outgrown’ adult literature and I do enjoy my ‘grown-up’ reads on occasion. Here are a few that I can’t wait to sink my teeth into: Simone De Beauvoir’s The Second Sex and Jasper Fforde’s Shades of Grey. I am also giving Paulo Coelho’s The Zahir as a gift to a dear friend this Christmas.

Several months back, I found Dragonlance Chronicles: the Dragon series, and so I was so happy to chance upon another Collector’s Edition at 2.50 dollars: Dragonlance Legends: Time of the Twins, War of the Twins, Test of the Twins by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman. And of course Salman Rushdie is an absolute favorite: The Moor’s Last Sigh.

I would have to say that these are my absolute favorite finds: The Heart of a Woman by Maya Angelou and Deepak Chopra’s Soulmate: A Novel of Eternal Love.

Finally here are the last two books: Ursula LeGuin’s Voices and Jostein Gaarder’s The Christmas Mystery.

How about you, which old ‘friends’ found their way into your hands this week?

One comment on “BHE (30): All Out Book Sale at Bras Basah

  1. [...] Book Hunting Expedition: All Out Book Sale at Bras Basah [...]

Leave a Reply

